From iPhone to Android

Starting this friday I’ll be losing my wonderful iPhone and immersing myself into the world of Android with the HTC Evo. The decision has less to do with dissatisfaction with the iPhone or the merits of Android, and more with moving from AT&T to Sprint. My fiancĂ© had been on Verizon and I was on AT&T. Her contract was up and we decided to merge to a family plan of some sort to save money. While originally we were going to move her to AT&T, she didn’t like any of the phones and AT&T was a bit expensive (and a pain to set up). After some research, it became a simple math problem that Sprint won out by saving us $50 a month.

Android Logo

The Android Logo is a little green robot man. Hopefully he will prove to be friendly.

So I’m selling my iPhone (eBay link) and switching to the Evo in order to save some money. However, this does bring up an excellent opportunity as a developer. Mainly in starting to learn about Android development for making mobile applications.

I find the Android development environment quite interesting. I’m not as big of an eclipse fan, preferring IntelliJ IDEA myself, but the Android integration with Eclipse is mighty slick. Having it bring up the simulator was probably as easy as it is for the iPhone. Interesting opportunities arise.

While programming for the iPhone is all done in Objective-C, programs in Android are done in Java or other JVM compatible languages. The ability to use Scala or Groovy for making mobile applications. Granted the integration for Scala and Groovy might not be as good as straight up Java, but it’s still a benefit that it’s available. Also, since I’m a Java developer at my day job, jumping into Android programming should be a lot easier as I will just need to get used to mobile development and not a whole programming language at the same time.

However there are parts of my iPhone I will miss. Since I play Go a lot, I’ve been very involved using a program called Boardz for turn based play. I’m not sure if there’s a good alternative app for the Android (I’m sure I’ll be looking on Friday). However, if there is not it actually provides me with an excellent opportunity. Basically to create my own version for the Android.

You see, I’ve always been interested in doing personal projects, but I’m never able to come up with a good idea. Having an excellently delivered piece of mobile software that will be unavailable on my new platform gives me a perfect opportunity to recreate a similar program for myself and others. I’ve already started a bit by starting a project to convert parts of the Fuego Go library over to Java. Ideally when I have a basic library for dealing with SGF files and game moves along with calculating things like ko and final scores, I’ll be able to plug in a nice Android interface to it and build a server, maybe on App Engine, to handle game events.

If anyone is interested in collaborating on a project like that, drop me a comment. I’ll have some actual code posted to my github project page later today.

Explore posts in the same categories: Android, Design, Go, Ramblings

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

