Go/Chess Timer with Camera

So as I mentioned previously, I’ve been interested in building things recently. I haven’t yet purchased an Arduino yet (I’m waiting to find the right package and for some spare money), but I still think about projects that I want to do. I’ve glanced at several things that other people have done and while making my own skill crane might be pretty cool, I came up with another idea that’s been floating through my head for a few days now.

I’m a big Go fan, so for me making something related to Go would be interesting. There are lots of programs for playing games on the internet which have the unique advantage of recording the games that you play so you can exactly review them later. For physical games, you need to create a kifu to record the game, which requires that you write down your move after you make it. Writing the move down however can be distracting from thinking about the game. In major games, professionals will have a recorder who sits and records all of the moves for them (they also keep track of time), but that’s not very feasible for the majority of players.

So the idea is to make a device that automatically creates kifu for physical board games. I think there is a fairly obvious path for doing this as well. In a tournament style game of Go, players would use a Go/Chess timer for keeping track of how much time each player has. The devices are generally a box that sits on the side of the board with two largish buttons on top and two clocks underneath. The clocks show the time for each player. When it’s your turn, your clock is counting down the time. When you finish your turn, your clock stops and your opponents clock starts counting down. There’s a few more advancements that can happen in these clocks like dealing with overtime and such, but that’s the basic principle.

Creating the clock with an Arduino shouldn’t be too hard. Two buttons (plus maybe a few more for configuration), two LCD screens, and maybe something to make noise when you run out of time should be fairly easy to wire up and program for a basic timer. What I’d like to do though is also attach either a web camera connected to a computer (laptop) or a digital camera that has a remote shutter control. The idea is that when you press the button to signify that your turn is over, the web or digital camera takes a picture of the board. You can use these pictures later to manually recreate the game in like an SGF file, or if I’m feeling really ambitious utilize some digital photo analysis and recognize where the pieces are played and automatically create SGF files. This way you can review even your physical game after having played it.

The PS3 eye Toy camera is my current target camera platform. There are USB drivers that make it run on windows (and I can look for Linux drivers) so I can pull data off of it. Since I acquired my camera with the Eye of Judgement game, I already have a neat stand that is designed to look down on a surface. When a button is pressed, the Arduino can send a signal over the serial cable to the laptop (or other computer) to signify that an image should be taken. If I later use a digital camera with a remote shutter control, then the whole process wouldn’t need a separate computer at all.

I realize that the same thing can be done just using software on a general PC and designating two keys for the timer, but I think having a dedicated device with better buttons that feels more like a game timer would be a more enjoyable experience. Also the ability to add blinking LEDs and/or sound when your time is running out would add to the overall feel.

If I ever do make it, I’ll be sure to post some info about the end result and some pictures. I’m going to go back to pondering my future building plans.

Explore posts in the same categories: Building, Go

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

